Puppies, Balloons, and Lipstick

Erica Rhodes
3 min readJan 29, 2021

A purpose of human life, no matter who is controlling it, is to love whoever is around to be loved. —Kurt Vonnegut

“We are getting a puppy!” my 9- year-old niece announced to me on facetime, brimming rosy- cheek to rosy-cheek with elation.

“We are naming him Charlie!”

“That’s so exciting!”

Annabelle is blooming into a beautiful, strong-minded young girl with her own thoughts about many things.

She likes when I send her make-up, which got me into a little trouble with Grandma recently.

“Why did your aunt send you grown-up make-up?” Grandma asked.

“I love it!” she exclaimed.

I assured Grandma it was just a phase, and she’d eventually get bored of it.

Sure enough, last time I spoke to her, Annabelle confessed,

“Sometimes it’s annoying when it comes off onto my glass when I drink.”

“That’s the trouble with lipstick,” I empathize.

“But you look good, at least,” she says matter-of-factly.

“Exactly!”

Someone has to teach her what really matters in life.

Why not her crazy LA aunt?

--

--